Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Love and Misadventure” by Lang Leav

loveandmisadventureSo, I have to confess that I’m one of those people who spends an obscene amount of time on Tumblr. I suppose if you think about it, it’s quite a pointless website. Essentially all you’re doing is scrolling endlessly, looking at gifs and pictures – occasionally reblogging one every now and then, before continuing to scroll down until you get to the last point where you stopped scrolling.

The thing about Tumblr though, is that it helps me discover new passions, and this book just so happened to be one of them! I’m a very analytical person, and I’m fascinated with how the mind words. I love finding quotes from various books that I’ve never read, but that seem to describe my life perfectly. One day when I was at home sick, I stumbled upon one of Lang’s poems which absolutely resonated in me, and I thought “I have to read this book.”

I’d heard many good things about it from a friend of mine who had just finished reading this book, and while I was putting in an order for my brother’s Christmas present at Book Depository, I just happened to slip this into my cart as well.

Firstly, I must say that even though I majored in Creative Writing at University, I bombed out of my poetry unit, so I’m not going to critically analyse the writing style of this book. What I AM going to do though, is tell you in my own jumbled language why this book struck a chord with me. Maybe those who can’t write poetry are blessed in a way … We get to enjoy it for what it really is – Words on a page which align themselves perfectly to create a window into our souls.

(How poetic of me. That’s all you’re getting though!)

Ok, so onto the book itself. It’s only a small book, so if you’re super keen like I am, you can finish it in an hour or so. The book is broken up into two parts and features some stunning art at the start of each section by Lang herself.

What I love about the poems is that they are short, and right to the point, yet you can still get imagery out of them. I love how the language in each poem is so straight forward too, so that the reader is able to interpret the poem to their own likings.

The reason why I failed my poetry unit, was because the poems we were meant to study were horribly cryptic, and although I’m sure they were brilliant, they just didn’t do anything for me except frustrate me. I didn’t want to have to decipher every poem before I could understand it to enjoy it.

That’s why I loved every page of Lang’s book. Each poem was still descriptive, and I really enjoyed the way it prompted me to think about certain things and situations in my life. I was able to relate to a lot of the poems – perhaps that’s why this book resonated so well with me. And, just when you’ve read enough of the poems, or your eyes need a break from the structure, the book is broken up with a page of text with a line down the bottom that just hits you.

My favourite poem in the book was the one I originally found on Tumblr – It’s in the second section of the book, and titled Souls.

“Can I ask you something?”
“Anything.”
“Why is every time we say goodnight, it feels like goodbye?”

Wow. Talk about summing up my life situation in that poem!

Even if you’re not a huge poetry fan, I encourage you to read this book. Sometimes it’s good to mix it up a little bit and add different genres to your reading repertoire. If nothing else, go on Tumblr, or Google Image, search for Lang Leav, and just read some of the beautiful pieces that she’s written. You won’t be disappointed.

Overall rating: 4/5

