Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“Before I fall” by Lauren Oliver

Before I Fall

Remember when I said I was reading this book in one of my last Youtube videos? Well, I ended up forfeiting sleep until 2am in order to finish this book, because I became so engrossed in the story that I actually thought it would keep happening without me. Have you ever read a book like that? Wow! What a journey!

Samantha Kingston is living the ideal life: She has the perfect group of friends, the perfect boyfriend, popularity, and good looks. Sam’s world revolves around her, and she is perfectly OK with that. Things start to get a little unusual though when coming home from a party one night, she is killed in a car accident. The catch? She wakes up again the next morning …

Convinced it was merely a bad dream, Sam brushes off the annoying sense of Deja Vu that follows her everywhere that day, and continues on with life as normal, until the same thing happens again that evening after the party. And the day after that. And the day after that …

Sam relives the last day of her life seven times, and as each day passes she learns that her perfect life is not so perfect, that her friends are concealing some important secrets, and that the people in her life that she invests the least time in, perhaps deserve more.

So, I guess this book is the Young Adult version of Groundhog’s Day that had Bill Murray in it. Now, I loved that movie which is why I decided to go and read this book. The book, however, has stuck with me longer than the movie. It’s been about a week now since I finished it, and I still can’t get over the ending! I’m not going to spoil it for you guys because I seriously think that this book is worth the read. I know it presents itself as your typical “popular girl has an accident and reevaluates her life” story, but I love the twists and the secrets that are woven into this book.

It reminds me a lot of the John Marsden “choose your own adventure” or “Pick a path” novels, which were a big favourite of mine, and we get to see how one simple decision from Sam influences not only events in her lives, but in those around her too; her friends, her classmates, people she has literally spoken to once.

And there’s that one girl in the novel, Juliet, whose life hangs in the balance … The way Juliet’s story is woven into, and connected to Sam’s is incredible.

I adored this book – I’m so glad that I purchased this and that it’s a part of my collection now. I’d love to go back and read it when I’m not focused on getting to the end at ridiculous hours of the morning! I think that upon reading it a second, or third time, I’d probably pick up on a great deal more information that I did the first time round. And the ending … Oh goodness … The ending!

Read it, guys. It’s awesome!

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

