Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

“Matched” by Ally Condie

matched

When John Green recommends a book, you know it’s going to be good! I was watching a Vlogbrothers video on Youtube lately (and by lately, I mean “four months ago”) and in one of John’s videos around February, he was talking about “if you liked this book, you’ll like ….” and Matched popped up.

I wrote it down, and forgot about it until my Mum stumbled across it when we were in the Library trying to find Gone With The Wind (which I found, but never read. Whoops!). Naturally, I got excited, added it to the huge pile of books I was already checking out that day, and proceeded to read it first! The result? MORE PLEASE!

Cassia lives in a world where the Society makes all of life’s decisions for her: What to wear, what to eat, how much to eat, who to spend the rest of her life with, and even how and when she will die. Cassia had always trusted Society to make these decisions, and never doubted them for a second. That is, until something unusual happens …

At her Matching Ball, she is Matched with her best friend, Xander. Cassia is more than happy to be matched with someone she already knows and trusts, but when she goes to look at the chip with all of Xander’s information on it, it is not his face that appears before her. It is that of Ky Markham’s, which flashes before her eyes for a split second before showing Xander’s familiar face.

Society claimed it was a glitch, but then say later that it was planned. Either way, something isn’t adding up, and Cassia learns that perhaps the Society isn’t making the best decisions after all. She falls in love with Ky, who shows her a world which she never knew, and suddenly Cassia questions how much she can trust Society, and whether they really have everyone’s best interests at heart  …

I was about three chapters into Matched before I decided I was in love with this novel. I found it captivating to read, and thankfully I read it over the long weekend where I had time to curl up in bed and read most of it in three days! It’s easy to get sucked into this novel. You sit there, and wonder how people in Cassia’s world simply believe everything they are fed by Society, and how they can live in such a heavily controlled and regulated world.

Of course, this means that somewhere along the track there’s going to be a rebellion. And, naturally, it starts in Cassia’s family. Not with her to start with, but with her Grandfather, who gives her some forbidden poetry.

From there, Cassia discovers that there’s a whole different kind of world that she’s been sheltered from, and when she falls in love with Ky, she begins to question everything that Society has taught her. I got sucked in thinking “Don’t fall in love with Ky! You’re matched with Xander! Stay away from Ky!” which is exactly what I was supposed to think; That’s what Cassia was trained to think too, right?

And from there, this incredibly story unfurls about how things are not what they seem, and how it’s really up to us to look beyond what we’re given in order to find ourselves, and our path in life. (That’s how I took it anyway!)

It’s a brilliant read, and the best news is that there’s TWO more books in the series! That’s right people, TWO MORE BOOKS! I’ll be reading and reviewing them, for sure, but right now I have to wait for them to come in the mail. (You can’t change my mind about snail mail guys – Sorry!). I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed the Hunger Games series – It’s quite similar as it’s set in a Distopian world, there’s some hearty rebellion and it’s equally as enthralling. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if this series got turned into movies or a TV series in the future.

YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST, PEOPLE!!! 🙂

Overall Rating: 4/5

